Planning Commission

Home/Government/Planning Commission
Planning Commission2019-01-30T01:45:27+06:00

Planning Commission: The Planning Commission consists of five (5) members. Four members shall be appointed by the city council and may be removed by a four-fifths vote of the council. The council selects one member of the commission from among its own members. The City Attorney, City Clerk and City Administrator shall act as non-voting advisers. In order to qualify for appointment to the planning commission, the candidate must be a resident of the City of Winthrop, a property owner in the City or a business owner in the City. Terms on the planning commission are three (3) year terms. The Planning Commission shall serve as an advisory board to the Council in matters of directing the future physical development of the City. The Planning Commission shall, upon request of the Council, make studies, investigations and recommendations to the Council regarding matters affecting zoning, platting and public improvements. The Planning Commission shall adopt a plan and map for future development and land use. Meetings are held the third Monday of each month at 5 o’clock pm.

Current Planning Commission Members:

  • Peter Schuckert, Chairman
  • Rodney Fischer, Vice Chairman
  • Ryan Froehlich, Commissioner
  • Troy Martin, Commissioner
  • Bob Rickheim, Council Ex Officio
  • Melissa Lorenz, City Clerk/Secretary
  • Jennifer Hazelton, City Administrator
  • Walton Law Group, City Attorney